Crawford County, Missouri
Marriage license information
Where to Apply:
Office of Kim Cook
Recorder of Deeds
302 Main Street
P O Box 236
Steelville, Mo. 65565
How to Apply:
Both parties must appear together at the Recorders Office with proper identification.
When to Apply:
*Office hours are 8:00 a.m. 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday, except legal holidays.
However, marriage applications are taken from 8:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
*Allow approximately 15 minutes to complete the application process.
*State statute no longer requires applicants to wait three days before the Recorder
can issue the license.
*Blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, may not marry under the laws
of the State of Missouri.
*Applicants must be 18 years of age (male or female) to marry without parental consent.
Persons of the ages of 16 and 17 may obtain a license with the consent of their Custodial parent. Parents must give consent in person at the time of application and must have proper identification. No marriage license shall be issued authorizing the marriage of any male or female twenty-one years of age or older to a male or female under eighteen years of age.
*Previously married applicants must give month and year their last marriage ended.
*There is no blood test.
Identification and proof of age is required of ALL persons. The following documents will be accepted:
AGE 18 AND OVER
*Government issued photo ID (Drivers License, Non-Drivers
License, Military ID, Passport)
*Social Security Number
AGE 16 and 17
*Birth Certificate (Legal, Certified) AND
*Custodial parent to give consent
*Drivers License and, if divorced, court papers to prove custody
*If legal guardian, court papers to prove custody
NON U.S. RESIDENTS
Additional Information Requested from Applicants:
*The date of marriage ceremony
*The name and phone number of the individual(s) solemnizing the marriage
When to Pick Up the License:
*Marriage Licenses are valid for thirty (30) days from the date of issuance and may
be used anywhere within the State of Missouri.
*The License must be paid for in cash or check with current address and phone number. We also accept debit and credit cards. There is an additional $2.00 fee that will be charged to your account for using debit and credit cards.
*The fee is $46.00.
Minors are an additional $1.00 each.
This fee is paid at the time of application. Marriage license certification cards are
not required but are available for $2.00.
What to Do with the License:
You are responsible for delivering the license to the person who solemnizes your marriage.
The officiator must complete the marriage license, then return it to the Recorders Office within 15 days after the wedding.
Marriage licenses can either be hand delivered or mailed directly to:
CRAWFORD COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
P.O. BOX 236
STEELVILLE, MO 65565